The government of the Czech Republic declared the state of emergency in its entire territory for 30 days with effect from 12th March 2020 from 2 pm.

When declaring a state of emergency certain rights and freedoms may be restricted. With effect from 14th March 2020, the government resolution orders:

 no entry for all foreigners coming from risk areas except for foreigners staying temporarily over 90 days or persons with permanent residence in the Czech Republic; this does not apply if the entry of these foreigners is in the interest of the Czech Republic; 

 to stop the receiving request for short-term visa applications, temporary and permanent residence applications at the embassies of the Czech Republic; this does not apply to persons whose stay is in the interest of the Czech Republic;

  to stop all proceedings in the case of short-term visa applications, which have not been decided yet; this does not apply to persons whose stay is in the interest of the Czech Republic; 

 to stop all proceedings on applications for residence permits over 90 days lodged at the embassies, 

 no entry to the risk areas for the citizens of the Czech Republic and foreigners with permanent or temporary residence, over 90 days, in the Czech Republic; this does not apply if there is an exemption from the imposed measure.

Foreigners who are at the time of the declaration of the state of emergency in the territory legally, temporarily or permanently, under the rules for the stay of foreigners, are entitled to remain in the territory for the duration of the state of emergency.

On 12 March, the Czech government decided to reintroduce the internal borders of the Czech Republic

On 12 March 2020, the Czech government decided to reintroduce controls at the internal borders of the Czech Republic in response to an imminent threat to public order and internal security caused by the spread of COVID-19.

• The measure concerns the land borders with the Federal Republic of Germany and the Republic of Austria and the air borders, and takes place from 14 March 2020 0:00 to 18 March 2020 23:59 with the possibility of extension. 

• The internal borders with Austria and Germany can only be crossed at designated crossing points without any time limit. Persons, who demonstrably cross internal borders on a regular basis, in particular cross-border / commune workers, may also cross at other crossing points listed below from 5:00 to 23:00. 

• The above-mentioned obligation does not apply to selected categories of persons for whom the restriction on the crossing of internal borders would be disproportionate and in some cases would be contrary to the public interest. These include, for example, an integrated rescue system, people in the event of an unforeseen emergency, freight transport, etc.

The intensity and targeting of controls have been selected to minimize the flow of cross-border traffic.

The Ministry of the Interior asks travellers for understanding and helpfulness during an eventual inspection.

1) Places to cross EU internal borders

AUSTRIA Road borders: 

 Dolní Dvořiště - Wullowitz 

 České Velenice - Gmünd 

 Hatě - Kleinhaugsdorf 

 Mikulov - Drasenhofen

GERMANY Road borders: 

 Strážný - Phillippsreut

 Pomezí nad Ohří - Schirnding 

 Rozvadov-dálnice - Waidhaus 

 Folmava - Furth im Wald/Schafberg 

 Železná Ruda - Bayerisch Eisenstein 

 Krásný Les - Breitenau 

 H. Sv. Šebestiána - Reitzenhain


 Praha/Ruzyně (Vaclav Havel Airport) 

 Praha/Kbely

2) Other places to cross internal borders Only for persons who demonstrably regularly crossing internal borders, in particular crossborder / commuting workers and other persons, from 5:00 to 23:00.

AUSTRIA Road borders: 

  Vratěnín - Oberurnau 

 Valtice - Schrattenberg 

 Nová Bystřice - Grametten 

 Hevlín - Laa an der Thaya

GERMANY Road borders: 

 Všeruby - Eschlam 

 Jiříkov - Neugersdorf 

 Vojtanov -Schönberg 

 Cínovec - Altenberg